Bugs: Severity vs. Priority, and Why It Matters

While looking for more articles online involving testing, I came across SauceLabs. This website is another compendium of blogs, similar to stickyminds mentioned in my last blog. The layout and articles on this website were an excellent selection of resources dedicated to testing and quality assurance. While running through many bugs in my most recent projects and assignments, I was searching for an article dedicated to programming bugs. I found an article that fit my needs, dedicated to the differences between severity and priority of bugs, which is something I had not previously considered. The article’s title is Understanding Bug Severity vs. Priority: Key Differences and Best Practices by Chris Tozzi

The article provides (as the title indicates) a breakdown of bug severity and bug priority in software testing. It explains that bug severity is primarily concerned with the impact of a bug on the system’s functionality. Issues are categorized into the following levels of severity: critical, major, minor, and trivial. Each of these have a different level of impact on the system. For example, critical bugs may cause system crashes, while trivial bugs have a small functionality and performance impact. Bug priority focuses on the order in which bugs should be addressed, considering various factors that will impact the job as well as the program, such as deadlines, or bugs that are caused by higher priority bugs. Bugs with high priority require immediate attention, and those with low priority can be addressed later as the program develops and is tested further. It is an extremely important skill to be able to identify the severity and priority of bugs throughout the system and its development, so as to facilitate a smoother and more efficient development cycle. The article also provides some examples, such as a critical severity bug that causes data loss. This bug would ALSO have high priority because it is causing a lot of damage to the system’s structure.The article offers very useful recommendations for bug reports such as: establishing clear classification guidelines for bugs (priority/severity levels), communicating efficiently within teams, or reassessing bug statuses frequently.

I chose this blog because of my most recent experience in my assignments and projects. I had found that many bugs relied on each other, and I had never previously taken the initiative to learn more about bugs. When working with a team in industry, I will now have an understanding of how bugs are classified, as well as how to manage bug reports. This is something I had very little experience with prior to this article, and I will make sure to put extra effort into bug reports in my own projects with peers. I will continue to look into articles about bugs, testing, and QA to further improve my knowledge.

Source:
https://saucelabs.com/resources/blog/bug-severity-vs-priority

Ben Gelineau Avatar

Posted by

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started